Books Begetting Books

The 8 Influences That Gave Birth to “Wanting”

Luke Burgis

--

The home library of former Johns Hopkins University Humanities professor Richard A. Macksey, once a friend and colleague of the great cultural anthropologist, René Girard.

The Reflexivity of Books

Winston Churchill famously said that “we shape our buildings and afterwards our buildings shape us.” The remark came during a debate about how to rebuild the Commons Chamber, which had been bombed during a blitz. He advocated keeping an adversarial rectangular structure in place because he believed that two-party debate was essential to British parliamentary democracy — and that the shape of the old chamber had been directly responsible for the form of the debate.

Could we not say the same thing about books? The form of a book shapes the way that I engage with it. When I have a hard copy, I draw, annotate, underline, and doodle (I brutalize my books.) On my Kindle, I jump around, search for names or words, screenshot things and share on Twitter. Totally different experience.

I wonder about the future of book engagement in a Web-3 world when books will soon be tokenized, further-digitized, and accessible in bits and pieces (which readers may have to “unlock” with various currencies) on platforms like mirror.xyz. How might this change the way that books shape us?

There’s a metaphysical question to all of this, too. I’m haunted to this day by a conversation I had with a friend of mine who is…

--

--

Luke Burgis

Author of “WANTING: The Power of Mimetic Desire in Everyday Life.” Find more at read.lukeburgis.com